The Sound of Music (1995)


Music by Richard Rodgers
Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II
Book by Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse
Suggested by the book The Story of The Trapp Family Singers
Presented October 27 – November 4, 1995
The Old Creamery Theatre, Garrison
Director: Steve Arnold
Technical Director: Mary Dee Phillips
Choreographer: Joan Cooling

Black and white photographs by Dan Adix, originally printed in the Cedar Valley Daily Times


Two very talented sets of young actors were double cast as the von Trapp children. Below, with Ray Bookmeier as Captain Von Trapp, Annette Williams as Maria, and Donna Coulter (rear) as the Baroness, the first group was comprised of (back row) Burns Mossman, Melissa Hanneman, Josh Deutsch, Peggy Moen, and (front row) Kim Hanneman, Jessica Coulter, and Maggie Karr, pictured during the party scene shortly before singing “So Long, Farewell.”

The second cast, pictured for the number “The Lonely Goatherd,” are, with Annette Williams as Maria, (back row) Sarah Pohlman, Brian Hanneman, and (circular front row) Dan LaGrange, Stacy Williams, Chloe Stuff, Megan Williams, and Beckie Stravers.

Maria Rainer: Annette Williams
Sister Berthe: LuAnn Urlaub
Sister Margaretta: Emily Zimmer
The Mother Abbess: Dottie Anthony
Sister Sophia: Cathi Calderwood
Captain Georg Von Trapp: Ray Bookmeier
Franz: Eric Upmeyer

The Von Trapp Children:

Liesl: Maggie Karr / Sarah Pohlmann
Friedrich: Burns Mossman / Brian Hanneman
Louisa: Melissa Hanneman / Beckie Stravers
Kurt: Josh Deutsch / Dan LaGrange
Brigitta: Peggy Moen / Megan Williams
Marta: Jessica Coulter / Stacy Williams
Gretl: Kim Hanneman / Chloe Stuff

Rolf Gruber: Kevin Bookmeier
Max Detweiler: Larry Adams-Bowers
Elsa Schrader: Donna Coulter
Ursula: Julie Strong
Herr Zeller: Darran Sellers
Frau Zeller: Virginia Lindsey
Baron Elberfeld: Keith Mossman
Baroness Elberfeld: Becky Mossman
A Postulant: Sarah Pohlman / Maggie Karr
Admiral von Schreiber: Bob LaGrange
Fraulein Schweiger: Mary Dee Phillips

Guards: Corey Bruce, Chance Lindsey, Jason Stravers, Bill Zenk

Children’s Folk Dancers: Angie Brand, Joshua Brewer, Kyle Brewer, Natalie Edwards, Mathew Eldred, Tasha Kauten, Danielle Lindsey, Emily Pohlman, Lianne Rydell, Trisha Stander, Lori Strong, Melanie Williams, Megan Wright

The Trio of the Saengerbund of Herwegen: Sue Gates, Carol Hanneman, Megan Hanneman

Staff / Crew

Assistant Director, Stage Manager: Patti Upmeyer
Property Mistress: Patti Upmeyer
Costume Mistress: Lu Karr
Costume Assistants: Sarah Pohlmann, Beckie Stravers, Kim Coe, Morgan Horning, Kathy Mossman, Jessica Coulter, Esther Strong, Peggy Moen, Kevin Bookmeier, Corey Bruce
Costume Construction: Ida Higgins, Barb Bookmeier, LuAnn Karr, Becky Mossman, Diane LaGrange
Set Design and Painting: Mary Dee Phillips
Set Construction: Mary Dee Phillips, Dean Beckman, Nancy Beckman, Kevin Bookmeier
Lights and Sound: Mary Dee Phillips, Dean Beckman
Stage Crew: Corey Bruce, Matt Husnik, Matt Salger, Jason Stravers
Makeup: Steve Arnold
Promotional Artwork: Mary Dee Phillips
Publicity and Promotion: Julie Zimmer, LuAnn Karr, Mary Dee Phillips
Box Office: Linda Radcliffe


Nuns Chorus:
Dottie Anthony, Angie Brand, Cathi Calderwood, Kim Coe, Donna Coulter, Sue Gates, Carol Hanneman, Megan Hanneman, Morgan Horning, Marian Kirkpatrick, Julie Strong, LuAnn Urlaub, Megan Wright, Emily Zimmer

The Orchestra:
Judy Trygstad (Director, flute, guitar)
Barb Glime (Clarinet)
Chris Hoffman (Clarinet, violin, percussion)
Judy Mitschelen (Keyboard)